Whole 30, Day 1

So I woke up this morning knowing that today.is.the.day.  It’s the worst day of the Whole 30.  You feel like you have a hangover.  Well, you do in a way.  A hangover of processed foods, sugars, artificial colors and sweeteners, and just crap.  I’m warning you in advance that I’m already hurting.  I know that I can do it, though.  It’s been done before.

I thought I’d blog about how I feel every day and what I ate.  A way to keep myself honest and to share recipes.

For breakfast, I kept it very simple  I sauteed celery and onions in olive oil and then scrambled two eggs.  I topped it with a sugar-free salsa of tomatoes, onions, peppers, jalapenos, cilantro and a tiny bit of salt.

Did I mention 3 cups of black coffee, too?  Trying to get rid of the headache that comes with the first few days.

For lunch, I had a sweet potato topped with chicken breast (cooked in the crockpot and shredded and mixed with barbecue sauce that is whole30 compliant).  I finished it off with a navel orange that I needed to kick a sweet craving.  Gotta be honest here.

For dinner, I’ve got Sausage Stuffed Peppers in the crockpot.  I found a webpage that is all Whole30 CrockPot Recipes.  I made our menu this week using 3-4 of these recipes.  Excited to find some new recipes.  I took a look at our local market’s ad and found all of the proteins on sale and tried to match our menu to the add to stay on budget.  We’re also having roasted cauliflower and brussel sprouts to finish it off.

I’m so excited to get started on this, even though it’s always a rough start.  The results are amazing. I feel so much better, have increased energy, sleep better, and just feel great about my health.

Give it a try.

I dare you!

Leave a Reply

