Whole30, Day 3

Day 3.

It’s hard to put into words my overall sense of being today.  I woke up starving, and I still had a slight headache.  After I ate breakfast, the headache went away.  After lunch, this feeling of starving is still there.  I forgot about this part.  The cravings.

I want tortilla chips with salsa.

Just a tad bit of half ‘n half in my coffee, PLEASE!

According to the Whole30 website, the cravings usually go away during week 3.  I have to remind myself that I’m not going to die without these things.  Usually, I’d go for a walk with the dog or something to get my mind off of the cravings. Today, it’s snowing and cold, so I’m blogging instead and hoping the cravings go away while I type.

Day 3, Breakfast.

I made a breakfast bowl for the family.  It consisted of 1/2 pound of clean chicken breakfast sausage, 5 eggs, 1 sweet potato in small dices, 3 green onions, 2 ribs of celery, and a red pepper diced.  I cooked the sausage first, then removed it from the skillet and added the sweet potatoes.  I had to add a little olive oil to keep them from sticking to the pan.  When the sweet potatoes were starting to brown a little, I added the remaining vegetables.  When they were soft and happy, I removed them from the pan and added the 5 eggs + 2 TBSP of water (to help them get fluffy).  When the eggs were 90% cooked, I added everything back in the skillet the mix it up.  I topped it with a little fresh cilantro and 1/4 of an avocado for each person.

Day 3, Lunch

You MUST try this soup! Chicken Paleo Tortilla Soup.  Even when I’m not following a Whole30, I make this 2-3 times per month.  It’s great reheated for lunches, and my family loves it.  The house smells fantastic when it’s cooking, too.  I have changed the recipe a little. I always add about a tablespoon of adobo peppers to give it a smoky taste, and I also leave the seeds and membranes from the jalapenos because we like the heat.  I also put in 1 TBSP of both chilli powder and cumin because you can never have too much of these flavors!  When adding the veggies, I increase them to more like 4 cups of shredded carrots and 3 cups of celery.  I like the consistency of it and the extra veggies can’t hurt! Use your food processor to make light work of this soup. We always top it with chunks of avocado.

Day 3, Dinner.

It could be a Tortilla Soup night.  If not, I’m roasting a chicken.  Roasted chickens are super simple and are worth the time.  It’s an every-other weekend meal for us.  I buy a roaster that’s around 6 pounds.  I rinse it off and dry it off with paper towels.  I take about 1 tbsp of olive oil and rub it all over the skin.  Then, I choose my flavors.  Sometimes, it’s a poultry seasoning.  Sometimes, I cut up a lemon and tuck it inside with some cloves of garlic and then lightly salt and heavily pepper the outside.  Sometimes it’s lemon with rosemary.  Sometimes, I take the olive oil, add some grainy mustard and 1 tsp of rosemary and smear it all over.  It’s just what I’m in the mood for that day.  I roast it at 425 degrees for about an hour, or until the inner temperature is 165 degrees.  The skin always is lovely.
Now, if you have the time, this is my ULTIMATE favorite way to cook a chicken.  It’s called Sticky Chicken and I’ve used it for years.

If we have chicken tonight, I will be steaming some carrots, tossing them in some ghee, and adding a little salt and about 1/2 tsp of dill weed.  Fantastic flavor.  Add a salad, and I’m good.

I love finding fabulous, tasty, recipes that keep me going.  What’s your favorite?

Leave a Reply

