Whole 30, Day 4

Thank you to everyone for your encouragement at church today.  Keeps me going!!  Woke up headache free and my stomach growling.  On the Whole30, you should eat within the first 60 minutes after you wake.

Day 4, Breakfast.  Nitrate and sugar free bacon, scrambled eggs.  No nitrates or added sugars allowed.  I also had an orange.  Breakfasts are the hardest, but I usually stick with eggs or a cooked sweet potato.  Tomorrow I’ll be making my breakfasts for the week.  I put diced peppers, green onions, and chopped fresh spinach into sprayed muffin tins.  I crack an egg into each well and lightly top with pepper but no salt because salt tends to make them tough.  I use a fork to break the yolk before cooking them.  Bake for 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven.  I usually make enough for each person to have 2 each morning.  After cooling, I put them in a container in the refrigerator and reheat them for about 30 seconds in the microwave.  Easy and quick breakfast along with a piece of fruit.

IMG_0199

I know it sounds like a lot of eggs, but it’s a good protein, and the cholesterol in them do not raise your cholesterol if you are eating correctly.  There is a science to the Whole30, and you can read all about it in the book It Starts With Food, by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig.

Day 4, Lunch.  Sticky Chicken, Dilled Baby Carrots, and Sweet Potatoes.  I didn’t cook last night.  Had leftover tortilla soup.

Day 5, Dinner.  Most likely this will be  a salad with leftover chicken, tomatoes, cucumbers, shredded carrots, diced eggs, slivered almonds and a chopped avocado with my OG-ish salad dressing.

The fantastic part of the Whole30 is that I eat a LOT of leftovers.  I usually cook for dinner and then take leftovers for work.  I usually cook 4-6 sweet potatoes on Sunday evening to also have for lunches or even breakfast.  Wash, poke a few holes in them with a fork and wrap in aluminum foil.  Bake for 90 minutes at 375 degrees.  I always put them on a baking sheet so that the sugars don’t leak onto the bottom of my stove.  I let them cool and then just put them in the refrigerator.   When I want to eat one, it’s a quick 2 minutes in the microwave.  If you prefer butter on them, you can top it with ghee.  I’ve come to love them plain.  They’re almost like a dessert!

Can’t wait to share tomorrow’s menu with you!

Leave a Reply

