Whole 30, Day 5

I am kicking this thing!  Good black coffee has once again found it’s way to a place of satisfaction in my life.  It’s not that I used  sweeteners like french vanilla or Girl Scout Thin Mint. The richness of a splash of half ‘n half just makes me feel all cozy inside.

I thought I’d share a few of my shopping tips with you today.  I buy a plethora of veggies and meats during the Whole30.  The surprise though, always comes with my grocery bill.  Because I’m not buying junk (sugars, processed foods) it’s always the same as before or even a little less.  I’m not following Whole30 to every letter of the law.  You’re supposed to buy only 100% organic groceries.  I just can’t afford to do that 100 percent of the time.  I do the majority of my shopping at Sprouts and Sam’s Club/Costco, and fill in at Whole Foods Market.  I make my menu out for the week on Tuesday when the ads arrive in my mailbox.

I choose my meals based on what meats are on sale.  This week it is going to be a lot of chicken meals because sprouts has chicken breasts on sale for $1.99 per pound.  I usually buy extra to freeze to have for later in the cleanse (which is known to become a Whole90.  Yep 90 days.)  Wild caught salmon is also on sale, so I bought some of that.  If you buy ground beef at Whole Foods Market in bulk they will give you a discount!  I bought grass-fed, organic, 85% lean ground beef for $3.49 a pound there a few weeks ago.  I bought 8 pounds at put it in the freezer for future use.  Ask them at the meat counter!

For veggies, the best prices are at Sam’s Club.  I get organic veggies at a great price.  Yesterday, I bought 10 pounds of sweet potatoes.  They have five pound bags of organic for $2.98.  That’s sixty cents a pound.  I can’t find them for less anywhere.  Organic yellow onions are $5.98 for ten pounds.  I can’t even buy conventional onions at that price.  Bags of baby organic carrots are $3.98.  The organic whole carrots were $2.19 for three pounds.  Brussel sprouts and broccoli – 2 pounds for $3.98.  Organic Baby Spinach – one pound for $3.98.   Sam’s is where I also buy eggs.  Two packages of 18 for $3.76.  I also buy my unsweetened almond milk there.  Three half-gallons for only $6.98.  Almonds are only $13.98 for 2.5 pounds.  I did pick up some frozen chicken breasts, too.  I had enough for 1 1/2  – 2 weeks of veggies and nuts for around $60.   Costco has similar prices.  Bulk is the way to go during Whole 30.

Breakfast, Day 5.  Breakfast Skillet.  I gave directions on day 4.  Here’s a pic of the finished product. This fed four of us with leftovers.  My kids added a dash of Belizean Heat. IMG_0197

Lunch, Day 5. Leftovers.  We still have soup and chicken from yesterday.  Some of us will have sweet potatoes.

Dinner, Day 5. Spaghetti Squash with Homemade Meat Sauce, sauteed italian zucchini and yellow squash and Salad.  We’ve really come to love spaghetti squash as a substitute for pasta.  I found an easy way to prepare it in the microwave.  Stab the spaghetti squash with a butcher knife 10-12 times to allow for ventilation while cooking.  You don’t want it to explode!  Place it in your microwave and cook on high for 12 minutes.  Let it sit for about 3-5 minutes.  Cut it in half, remove the seeds, and then use a fork to remove the noodles.  This takes so much less time than trying to cut it in half before it was cooked and then baking it.  I found a great spaghetti meat sauce that we love.   I do eliminate the honey, because it’s not Whole30 compliant.

IMG_0198

Tomorrow I’m making one of my family’s favorites for dinner.  Can’t wait to share it with you.

Leave a Reply

