Whole 30, Day 6

Today was crazy.  First of all, my daughter went back to college, and I’ve been up since 4 (when she went to the airport.)  It was also the day I had to report back to school.  I have a pretty long morning and knew it was going to be rough mid-morning.  On the Whole30, you’re not supposed to snack.  The problem is, though, having breakfast as early as I did was going to make it around 8 hours between meals.  I brought an apple to dip in fresh ground almond butter to eat during my plan period.  I followed the Whole30 rule of not eating in front of technology or doing anything else (reading , grading papers) while you are eating.  My teammates sat in the lounge with me for about 10-15 minutes while we all had a small snack. It was nice to have some company.

People asked why no technology, tv, etc. during meals?  This comes directly from the Whole30 website

“Television can just as easily fill the same psychological need as food. You turn on the TV for comfort, as reward, for “company”, for some perceived “human” connection. You turn it on because, well, it’s there. And you let it run, assailing your brains with messages you can’t control, for hour upon hour every single day. When that TV is on, you are not present – not for yourself, nor for those around you. The television turns you into a spectator, not a participant in your own life. And the worst part is that you’re not even aware of what you are doing, and what you are missing as a result.”

Whole30 is all about breaking bad eating habits and getting into a good relationship again with your food.  You’ll find that you switch from being a person who lives to eat to someone who eats to live.  You see how good you feel from making good food decisions, and you’re aware of when you’re really hungry and not just having a craving or emotionally eating.

I know I promised you the recipes for one of our favorites.  Here it is, but I didn’t make it tonight. I forgot to defrost the ground beef.  I’m making it tomorrow night.  It’s Chocolate Chili.  Sounds weird. Tastes fabulous.  Never lasts at our house.  I stopped by Sprouts and picked up some pork chops to fill in for tonight.  Here was my day of food.

Breakfast, Day 6.  Clean Chicken Sausage and two egg “muffins,” coffee, and a banana.

Mid-Morning Snack, Day 6 – Apple and almond butter.

Lunch, Day 6.  The end of my Chicken Tortilla Soup, 1/2 of an avocado, blackberries.

Dinner, Day 6.  Pork Chop seasoned with sage, pepper and salt, sauteed in some extra virgin olive oil.  Sweet potato and roasted brussel sprouts.

IMG_0200

I love to roast vegetables.  Here you go.  You can thank me later.

Roasted Vegetables
Ingredients:
  • 1 pound any hearty vegetable  -brussel sprouts (trimmed and halved lengthwise,) carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, or squash or a combination of vegetables.  (I usually cook 2 pounds at a time.)
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
Preheat oven to 400°F. Toss vegetables with oil, salt and pepper on a rimmed baking sheet and roast, stirring once or twice, until deep golden brown, crisp outside and tender inside, 30 to 35 minutes. Keep an eye on them to make sure they don’t burn.  Transfer to a bowl and serve.
Thanks for all of the positive e-mails and comments.  If you have questions, please ask away!
Leave a Reply

