I’m glad it’s Day 2 again.

Yes, it is possible to start over.  I guess since we were going long term on eating paleo-ish, it really isn’t bothering me.  I am thinking about other kinds of foods, but as long as I don’t go buy them, I’m going to be fine.  The difference between want and need is self-control.

I had jury duty this morning.  I usually get called in the summer.  It was always a treat to stop by Starbucks and pick up a misto for myself.  A misto, for non-Starbucks employees, is a cafe au lait.  Just coffee with steamed milk.  I don’t have to have the froo-froo or blended drinks.  I’m a coffee purist.  Today, I just made myself a cup of black coffee to go.  I was proud of myself for not even putting myself in that situation.  I think that was what frustrated me the most last week.  Being in a situation that was out of my control.  I hate when I plan my day, or 30 days, and someone re-writes my script.  I’m just proud of myself for starting over!

Breakfast was simple.  I sauteed mushrooms, green peppers and spinach with 2 scrambled eggs.

Lunch was simple.  I had leftovers from last night.  When I went to make the Chocolate Chili, I remembered I had used all of the cocoa powder the last time I had it.  So…I improvised.  I took a chili recipe from Cooking Light and changed it up a little. Here’s what I did:

2 Tbsp olive oil
2 pounds ground round
2 medium chopped onions
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 (14.5-ounce) can fire roasted tomatoes
2 (8-ounce) cans no-salt-added tomato sauce $
1 tablespoon dried oregano
3 tbsp chili powder
3 tbsp ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 cup beef broth
1 cup water
I put 2 tbsp of olive oil in a stock pot.  I cooked the onions on med-high heat until they were translucent (about 7 minutes.)  I added the garlic and cooked it for about 30 more seconds.  I added the ground beef and cooked until it was no longer pink.  I added all of the remaining ingredients.  I brought it to a boil and then lowered the temperature to low and let it simmer for 2 hours.  I served it with raw carrots, and ants on a log (celery with almond butter and raisins.)
For dinner, I’ve got a roast in the crockpot.  It’s called Beef Roast with Carrots.  The recipe calls for a package of spice seasonings.  There’s a link for a taco seasoning mix.  That’s what I used.  Seasoning packets aren’t usually Whole30 compliant.  They usually have msg, soy, wheat, and sugar.  I’ve become a label reader.  With the internet, there’s no excuse during your Whole 30 for not just looking up a recipe for a homemade seasoning blend and using that.  I’ll let you know how it turns out!  It smells fabulous.
So, the point of today is, it’s okay to mess up.  It’s not okay to quit.  Start again!  No excuses.  No cheating.  You can do it!
Leave a Reply

