5280 Produce Box – December 10, 2016

img_0062

Our family eats 90% paleo.  Shocking, because my husband is in the wholesale bread business!  Because the holidays are so filled with indulgence, the produce box from 5280 Produce is a way to keep the clean eating on track!   Their produce is always fresh, and this week, I have a challenge for using some of the produce.  We are not a beet family.  I’m going to attempt to roast beets with other root vegetables to see if anyone will try them!  Fingers crossed. We also received 2,  2-pound bags of cranberries.  I’m using these to make gifts for my co-workers.   I have a fabulous recipe for cranberry squares that always receives rave reviews.  In fact, the mother of a family friend took the recipe back to the restaurant she cooks for in Iowa and they are now a winter dessert staple in that restaurant.  By the way, if you haven’t figured it out, I’m not someone who CREATES recipes.  I do, though, have a knack for finding good recipes that people enjoy.  So, I’m a good replicator.

Here’s what was in the large box this week:

  • Banana
  • Oranges (5)
  • Pineapple (1)
  • Canary Melon (1)
  • Pears (5)
  • Watermelon (1)
  • Cranberries (2)
  • Avocados (5)
  • Cauliflower (1)
  • Beets (4)
  • Yams (4)
  • Red Bell Peppers (4)
  • Spaghetti Squash (2)
  • Bok Choy (1)

I also picked up their meat bundle, where I got 10 pounds of chicken breasts.  I’ll use a couple of the packages, but for the rest – Off to the freezer they go!  I love having a stash of meat – especially during the holidays when I need to cut back on my grocery budget.

My mind immediately went to thinking of how to use this fabulous produce in meals for the week.  The yams in the box this week aren’t just yams, they’re YAMS!  They’re huge and each one will probably make one recipe.  I have a fabulous casserole that I make using sweet potatoes and that’ll be on the menu for sure.  Bok Choy is fabulous in Asian soups, and because I have fresh ginger left from last week, that’ll be on the menu too.  Stuffed peppers, anyone?

Here’s the menu for the week:

Desserts…

Main Dishes…

Lots of leftovers this week!

Think healthy, think happy, be merry!

 

 

Cranberry Squares

 (The Brandied Cranberry Sauce recipe makes enough for 3 batches of bars)

Mix 1 1/2 cups EACH rolled oats, flour, brown sugar, and 1 tsp baking powder.  Blend in 1 cup butter until mixture is crumbly.

Press 2/3rds of oat mixture into the bottom of a 9 inch square pan.  Top with 1 cup brandied cranberry sauce.  Sprinkle remaining oat mixture over cranberries.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Let cool completely.  Cut into squares.

Brandied Cranberry Sauce

Place 4 cups of fresh or frozen cranberries in a 9 X 13 baking dish.  Sprinkle evenly with 2 cups of sugar.

Cover and Bake at 300 degrees for 1 hour.  Remove from oven.  Stir carefully, then stir in 1/3 cup brandy or orange juice.  Store in refrigerator.  Makes about 3 cups.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

