What happened to the first part of 2017?

Well, I made the decision to blog today and opened up my blog to see where I had left off.  I was blown away and embarrassed.

Goals.  A “Healthy 2017.”  One of my goals completely overwhelmed me this year and it has taken until today, July 6, 2017 to get to the point where I can focus on even writing about my plans.

A Healthy Work Environment.  Kill me now.

This one gets me every time.  As a teacher, I begin my “year” in mid-August.  It officially ends in late May.  It takes me 5 or 6 weeks to decompress from the pressures of my job, which is right about now.   THEN I get anxious because school supplies are back on the shelves at Target and pending doom of reporting back to school in 5 weeks hits me.  I know I have to begin planning for next year.  I need to reflect on my successes of last year and set classroom goals for this year.

It’s an extremely stressful job, but I love the reward of seeing students succeed and become lifetime learners along with the relationships that I have built.  I’m fortunate to work at a school where the staff is supportive and work together to grow our kids.  I’m even more fortunate to have a team where we have each other’s backs and we just “get each other.”  We work hard and it pays off.

So – why did I include Healthy Workplace as a goal?  It’s because this beast causes my physical health, home health, mental health and relational health to not be at their best.  It’s all consuming, which is why I take a long time to re-evaluate my decision to continue teaching EVERY YEAR.  To be the best I can be as a teacher means a minimum of 13 hours a day from August through May with my mind on school.  I’m so exhausted at the end of the day that I don’t have as much time as I’d like to exercise, plan healthy meals, date my husband, hang out with my kids or just RELAX.  Weekends are spent cleaning, shopping, grading papers, writing curriculum that kids want to learn,  etc.  My goal is to figure out how to be at school from 7 – 4 and LEAVE IT THERE.

The reality that we will be empty-nesters on September 17 is both exciting but leaves me full of unanswered questions and regret.  Have I spent enough time with my children?  Did I teach them everything they need to know?  Did I make memories?  I feel like the pressures of being a teacher has affected my relationships with my own children, and not for the better.  Would I do it again?  I don’t know.

So here are my goals for the beginning of school 2017-18.  I have to start small.

  • Nothing comes home.
  • Leave at 4:00 pm.  I’ve already set the alarm on my Google Calendar for the year!
  • During either lunch or planning, 30 minutes of walking.

These 3 things will allow me to meet other goals of a Healthy Home, Healthy Body and Healthy Relationships and will allow me the time to work on me.

You have to start by taking a step.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

